The Four Divisions

3. The Four Divisions

                 3.1 The IDENTIFICATION DIVISION
                 3.2 The ENVIRONMENT DIVISION
                 3.3 The DATA DIVISION
                 3.3 The PROCEDURE DIVISION

COBOL program code is divided into four basic division: IDENTIFICATION, ENVIRONMENT, DATA, and PROCEDURE divisions. The identification division is required, but in theory the others are not absolute (although you won't have much of a program without any procedures or data!).